Search for Hotels:
Compare rates to other hotels(will open in a new window)

The coastline of Liguria is the Italian Reviera, a top tourist destination. The portion west of Genoa is known as the Riviera di Ponente. the eastern portion is the Riviera di Levante.

The region comprises four provinces:

The Province of Imperia is the most western part of the Italian Riviera.
Sanremo, a city of close to 60,000 with its annual Music Festival, is a most popular destination. Since flower cultivation is an important part of the economy, the local coastline is known as the Riviera dei Fiori.

The Province of Genoa includes the attractive port city of the same name. The birthplace of Columbus has an historic center, great restaurants, and a wide selection of museums.
Nearby are the world-class resorts of Portofino, Santa Margaherita Liguri and Rapallo.

The portion of the Riviera de Ponente in the province of Savona is called the Riviera delle Palme.
Alassio, founded in the 10th century is a health spa in the winter and beach resort in the summer.

La Spezia, the capital of the province of the name, is a beautiful port city with a population a bit below 100,000.
The province's claim to fame is Cinque Terre, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a largely untouched area of great beauty, consisting of five villages, most easily reached by train. The favorite local sport is hiking on the extensive network of trails.

Liguria Map


Tourist Information
Genoa - Imperia - La Spezia - Savona

Published 07.10.2014
© Copyright 1994-2014 WebScope.
99 West Hawthorne Ave, Suite 420 Valley Stream, NY, US 11580 About Us | Privacy Policy